About the Group

Our research group is based in the School of Chemistry at the University of Birmingham. We're part of the broader solid state community there, sharing lab and office space, equipment, ideas, and general research life among the various groups. We aim to foster a supportive, creative, collaborative and enthusiastic research environment.


For opportunities to join the group, click here. Chemistry should be accessible to all, and so we welcome interest from dedicated researchers regardless of gender, race, sexuality, (dis)ability, religion and background.

IMG_20211102_134630 (3).jpg

Current members

Josh Makepeace

Principal Investigator:

Josh is a Lecturer in Chemistry and UKRI Future Leaders Fellow in the School of Chemistry at the University of Birmingham. 

After completing his Bachelor degree at Flinders University of South Australia, Josh moved to the UK to study for a D.Phil. in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Oxford.

Following work at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and as a Junior Research Fellow at St John's College, University of Oxford, Josh started at the University of Birmingham in late 2019.

Jeremy Lowen

PhD Student:

Jeremy joined the group as a PhD student in 2020 after completing his MSci in the group in a project co-supervised by Dr Paul Anderson. His doctorate focuses on the development of M-N-H materials for battery applications.

Manoj Ravi

Research Fellow:

Since November 2020, Manoj works as a Research Fellow in the group with an aim to develop novel materials and catalysts for small-scale ammonia synthesis. He earned his PhD from ETH Zurich, which focused on the development of catalytic systems for the partial oxidation of methane and the characterization of Lewis acid sites in zeolites.

Publications list via Google Scholar

Caitlin Brooker-Davis

PhD Student:

Caitlin has just joined the group to start a PhD project developing new M-N-H catalyst systems for producing hydrogen from ammonia.

Ezri McGarrigle

M.Sci. Student:

Ezri is completing a Masters research project on M-N-H ammonia catalysts.

Chloe Walker

M.Sci. Student:

Chloe is completing a Masters research project on ionic conductivity in metal nitride halides.


Previous members

Alisha Sukhwani Manghnani, Part II (co-supervised with Prof Bill David)

Jonny Betteridge, Part II (co-supervised with Prof Bill David)

Jack Searle, Part II (co-supervised with Prof Bill David)

Jake Brittain, Part II (co-supervised with Prof Bill David)

Maryam Aziz

M.Sci. Student '19/20 

Matthew Brookman

M.Sci. Student '20/21 

Simon Fetwi

M.Sci. Student '20/21 

Emily Cooper

M.Sci. Student '20/21